When the 2017 ITTF Africa Eastern Region Championship serves off on December 13, in Mauritius, one country that will be aiming for the podium is Kenya. To actualize Kenya’s dream of making the podium, a seven-man team was named on December 1 by the Kenya Table Tennis Association (KTTA).

According to the President of KTTA, Andrew Mudibo, the team has included four debutants who will be making their maiden appearance at the tournament.

Apart from competing, the team will also be part of the training exercise starting on December 8 prior to the tournament kick off on December 13.

KTTA President, Andrew Mudibo welcomed the inclusion of new players into the team that will be going to Mauritius.

“The Eastern region activities are important for development of our players within the region”, said Mudibo, who is also the regional President.

The Eastern region comprises of 14 countries and the men’s team is made up of
1. Peter Theuri (Kenya top ranked player)
2. Josiah Wandera (National team player)
3. Brian Mutua (best player in the national league)
4. Kunal Arora (junior player/ wild card)

The women’s team are
1. Sejal Thakkar (Kenya top ranked player)
2. Sandra Nyagah (Best player in the national league)
3. Ivy Makoha (junior player/ wild card)

The coach is Germany-trained Michael Kuria, while the team manager is Joseph Okelo, who is also delegate to regional meeting while the head of Kenyan delegation is Andrew Mudibo, who is the Regional President and also Kenya TTA President)

The four new players wearing the national colors for the first time are Brian Mutua and Kunal Arora in the Men’s team and Sandra Nyagah and Ivy Makoha in the women’s team. Brian and Sandra are beneficiaries of the 2017/ 2018 national league after they came out on top as the best players.