The South African Table Tennis Board (SATTB) has named a 12-man team for the 2017 ITTF African Junior and Cadet Championships holding in Tunis on April 9 to 15.

Seven members of the team were part of the South African team that featured at the 2016 World Junior Championship held in Cape Town.

In the girls’ junior team, experienced Lekeasha Johnson, as well as the duo of Keshmika Sivnarain and Simeen Mookrey made the cut while Pumza Makiva; a debutant completed the four-man girls’ team.

In the boys’ team, the trio of Zakeer Moosa, Ezile Ndwabasini and Cade Peters are also experienced players who were part of the team at the World Juniors while another debutant, Prahlad Nair completed the four-man team.

In the girls’ cadet, the youngest player in the South African team at the World Juniors, Mushfiquh Kalam made the cut and she will combine with debutant Kiara Naidoo in the cadet division while debutant duo of Yukail Naidoo and Kivesh Sivnarain will fly the flag of South Africa in the boys’ cadet.

According to SATTB Vice President, Coaching, Clement Meyer, the selection of the players was based on rigorious trials organised to pick the best players.

After the Junior trials that were held in Cape Town at the Goodwood Sports Club from March 9 to 11, the 12-man team was recommended to represent the South African Table Tennis Board (SATTB) at the 2017 ITTF African Junior and Cadet Championships to be held in Tunis, Tunisia from the 9 to 15 April 2017,” he said.