Less than seven days after being named the sportsman of the year at the 2017 Nigeria Sports Award, Aruna Quadri was again recognised as the most outstanding sportsman of 2017 by one of Nigeria’s national newspapers – New Telegraph.

At the colourful event held at the Federal Palace Hotel in Lagos on Saturday November 25; politicians, captains of industry and sports family were in attendance to witness the award ceremony for the 23 outstanding Nigerians recognised by the newspaper.

Four sportsperson were recognised and Aruna Quadri’s exploits in 2017 fetched him the award.

As Quadri was named the Sportsman of the Year, Commonwealth Games gold medallist and silver medallist at the 2017 World Championship, Odunayo Adekuoroye was also named as the Sportswoman of the Year.

Just like Quadri, Adekuoroye was named the Sportswoman of the Year at the Nigeria Sports Award held last week in Lagos.

According to the Managing Director of New Telegraph, Funke Egbemode, the awardees were selected based on their impact in Nigeria coupled with their roles to inspire Nigerians in their various fields of endeavours.

Nigeria’s Speaker of the House of Representatives , Hon. Yakubu Dogara including serving governors and former Vice President were honoured at the well-attended evening.

The awardees include former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe State, Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike and his counterparts in Kano and Sokoto states, Abdulahi Ganduja and Aminu Tambuwal respectively.

Others were business mogul and Africa’s richest man, Alhaji Aliko Dangote and the Managing Director of United Bank of Africa (UBA), Mr Kennedy Uzoka Earlier, the Publisher of New Telegraph Newspapers and former governor of Abia State, Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu, congratulated all the awardees, describing it as recognition of their dedication to work, integrity and forthrightness.

President of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Mr. Amaju Melvin Pinnick and another Member of the NFF Executive Committee, Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed ‘Fresh’ were the honoured at the at the inaugural edition of the New Telegraph Awards.